Revision & School

Bounce Back from Mocks

My first post of 2018! Happy New Year! I’ve had to put my blog on the back-burner whilst studying for mocks (things got a little busy pre-Christmas). I’m back now, and want to get back into the swing of blogging and give my blog a little TLC! Ps – I’d love to hear from you , avid reader, and any feedback you have about my blog (especially negatives and improvements – you don’t grow if you never know how to!)

Similar to my blog, as a student you can never improve if you don’t know where you’re at. To be honest, as any person, the same is true; if you don’t want to improve mock scores, you want to ace work, your lifestyle, being a parent, your finances… And the list goes on!

However, as a college student, exams are my main concern and it can be especially hard to bounce back and grow from a tough mock that didn’t go as well as imagined. If you’ve received some unexpected results, it is perfectly normal and healthy to need a time out. Take a couple of days, let anything out of your system, take long and relaxing baths, hide your results in a corner (not forever, just until you find inner peace with them!).

I say unexpected, because having things go not to plan does not make it bad. We all have a difficult day or dip in the road. But if we didn’t make that mistake now, we’d never learn from it and risk making it instead in the real thing.

So, take time out, then come back fighting! Try new revision techniques, cover your papers with corrections & improvements, start your work earlier if timing was an issue, throw the kitchen sink at your subjects ( not physically!) for the next few weeks and see where that stands you. Most importantly, own your mistakes and your results. It’s the first stage to acing your learning and becoming – once again – confident in your abilities.

Not every revision technique is guaranteed to be a success, so trial a few new methods and some old classics from previous exams. A word of warning: what worked for you last year may not work for you this year. Be flexible about your strategies and revision methods.

I implore you, do not consider this THE END and give up the fight. Mocks are simply that – mocks – and are just a test to see where you’re at currently and what needs more work to get you to your end goal. Try not to see them as an intellectual beating and your only chance to succeed, see them as a challenge and an indicator of how to move forward.

As always, I’d love to hear how your studies are going and I’m always here if you want some more advice (I’ll try my best to help!)                                          – The Clever Owl

If you’re up for the challenge, why not take a look at some study posts I’ve written? It should give you a place to start in the un-climbable mountain that can be revision (but it doesn’t have to be! 🙂 ) It’s as simple as Uno, Deux & Three…

My go-to list of revision techniques and apps is coming soon!

 

 

Leave a comment