Posted in Books

My Heart and Other Black Holes

Wow.

I haven’t picked up a book to read for a while now due to college and work. I bought this book soon after reading Me Before You (if you haven’t read or heard of this book, maybe because you have been living under a rock, why not have a read of my review to see what it’s all about!) and after watching The Danish Girl. I suppose it was only expected that I keep up this streak of heart-wrenching, ball-your-eyes-out literature.

My Heart and Other Black Holes by Jasmine Warga is the heartbreaking tale of two teens – Aysel and Roman – who find themselves in a complicated situation. And trust me, our sort of complicated comes no where near their sort of complicated; Aysel and Roman only meet after promising to end their lives together in a month.

What I find incredibly powerful about this story is how realistic it is. This whole plot could take place a street away from my home, where I work or within my college. It’s an eye opener, not in the sense that the plot is based around real people, but about a real situation becoming all too common in our generation.

I’m going to leave it at that. Trust me, I could write pages and pages on this beautiful piece of literature, but I don’t want to spoil any of it. Put it on your reading list (please!) and let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

